ianrodger

Photography

The Moon and Zion

 

The Moon and Zion

The Moon and Zion

We were staying in a hotel close to Zion National Park surrounded by mountain ranges, I was sat by the pool one evening, looked over to see the moon rising between the mountain range and the setting sun turning the mountains a bright orange. I tried to get the same shot with the full moon a few days later but the conditions and moon position just wasn’t as interesting.

13 Responses to “The Moon and Zion”

    • irodger

      Shows I still have the enthusiasm to shoot pictures. To get this one I had to get up from a very comfortable poolside bed with an iced beer by my side, get my shoes on and walk up and down to get the right angle. Needless to say the beer was warm by the time I returned.

      Reply
      • suej

        Ah, but that’s what we photographers do….sometimes! I don’t get up at dawn very often, but I have been rewarded with some great sights when I have

    • irodger

      Thanks for the compliment. If you go to Zion its worth calling into Grafton ghost town, the cemetery is fascinating with indian graves, settlers killed in indian raids a 14 year old died after her swing broke.The town buildings were used in the film Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid in the bike scene where they play Raindrops keep falling on my head.

      Reply
      • Hanne T. Fisker

        Thank you much for this thorough reply. I’ve watched Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid a billion times, its such a classic. Once went on Amtrak, driving through the scenery from the film.
        I’ve always enjoyed the movies where Newman and Redford was acting together, they had a certain way, The Sting another great film with them as a team.

      • irodger

        Yes they always compliment each other, I love The Sting as well, an absolute classic. On one of our trips we have always fancied getting on Amtrak for a journey, might manage it sometime.
        With reference to Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid. If you are near Cody, Wyoming visit Old Trail Town,

        “Located here also are thousands of historic artifacts from the Old West and grave sites of several notable Western figures. Among the is the grave of mountain man John Johnson, who was portrayed by the actor Robert Redford in the 1972 motion picture “Jeremiah Johnson”.
        Here too are original cabins used by Old West outlaws Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid and a Wyoming saloon frequented by Cassidy’s “Hole-in-the-Wall Gang”.
        Ian.

      • Hanne T. Fisker

        I took Amtrak from San Francisco (bus first) to Denver, it’s a special journey passing through changing and beautiful landscapes. It’s worthwhile to make a stopover in Truckee, Lake Tahoe. If you do, go for coffee in Book & Beans, if it’s still there. A second hand bookstore and coffee-shop. One thing to know is, make sure you have plenty of time. It was more than 9 hours delayed, for me, it was part of the thrill šŸ™‚
        Thanks for the tips. Haven’t seen “Jeremiah Jones”. One day.
        have a good day
        /Hanne

      • irodger

        We will have to plan something for next year, not sure what we will do but a return to San Francisco would be nice but the west side of the Trans Canadian Highway also looks good, it seems to have many National Parks and lakes. But if its San Francisco we will look at Amtrak. We seem to have missed Lake Tahoe in all our travels, that puts another destination on the list. We are having to look harder for road trip destinations on the west coast, we have visited most places from Glacier NP in the north to Lake Havasu City (strange seeing London Bridge but it looks much better in Havasu City than in London) In the south. The coast road between LA and SanFran looks good but I have heard so many bad reports about LA I am really not sure if we would enjoy it (any comments would be gratefully received). As for Jeremiah Johnson, I also haven’t seen the film but have read a lot about the man and he certainly seems to be quite a character especially the liver eating bit. Well its a sunny but cold morning here and I must clear out the shed (not looking forward to it) so you also have a good day. Ian.

      • Hanne T. Fisker

        I’ve been driving Highway 1 twice now and it’s to me a mind-blowing beautiful drive and many great hikes around Big Sur Area. I can definitely recommend it. I spend 5 days driving it, camped and slept in my car, but you can do it in one or two days, but that’s kind of missing the point of it, I think šŸ™‚ Oktober/Nov/December is a good time, not in summer, the heat creates a haze that can block the view. What you can do is to simply just drive through/circle outside LA and continue to San Diego or go a bit inland to Julian, known for its apples, it’s a beautiful town and area. Or, turn around at Santa Barbara, another lovely town, instead of going all the way to LA. I find LA fascinating in its madness and it has immensely good coffee. However, not a place I would go to relax! One can also drive all the way up from Santa Barbara to Portland or Seattle… šŸ™‚

      • irodger

        Gosh you are well travelled. Yes I think we should think about LA again, we have had negative comments from people before and in our travels visited these places and thought they were fantastic, the only way you can get a true picture of a place is to visit and make your own conclusions. Highway 1 does sound fantastic, we need to do some thinking. The only problem with the road trips (last one 3114 miles, 10 hotels, numerous diners and 7lb weight gain mainly due to moms apple pie, burgers, meatloaf, milk shakes and soda ice cream tops not sure if the body and waistline can take it. Thanks for the travel info, will have a look on the map. Ian.

      • Hanne T. Fisker

        I kind of am, I suppose šŸ™‚
        And yes, absolutely. One has to make up ones own views on things. LA IS mad, but I spend almost 2 months there, so I got it more under my skin with time to observe all the nuances it has. Full of contrasts, creativity and superficiality in one big messy fascinating mix. I think, if one looks for it, there is beauty and surprises everywhere. And open mind is the way, I’d say.
        Never tried that kind of travel, however if you combine it with some walks and hikes, shouldn’t be too bad šŸ™‚
        All the best

Leave a Reply

